Girl Talk Thursday: Facebook and Ex-boyfriends.

Do I accept friend requests from my ex-boyfriends on facebook? Well that all depends. One or two of my ex-boyfriends do not have a facebook (or if they do, I cannot find them), I’ve learned another of my ex-boyfriends is physically and mentally incapable of using facebook. But I am indeed friends with at least one certifiable ex-boyfriend on facebook. Fill in the definition of the word certifiable at your own discretion.

Having known each other for ten years, It’s not entirely difficult to see why I’m friends with him on facebook. I live over 1000 miles away now so I don’t actually see him. Or anybody I went to highschool with. Or anybody I was friends with. Facebook has given us all (another) way to keep in contact and to stay abreast in each others lives. I get to see wedding photos, photos of their children, I get to learn about work promotions and things going on in their family.

Being friends with my exes could be pretty awkward if I really wanted it to be, but we’ve all moved on and up with our lives. (I think).

A few years ago, this particular ex started a photo album filled with high school photos of all of his friends, myself included. I was appalled. Aghast. Various other synonyms. Here, posted on facebook for the world to see were photos of my 15 and 16 year old self. In all my brace faced and unkempt-hair glory. I sat back in my chair, reeling. If it were anyone else I would demand all remotely unflattering photos of myself be taken down IMMEDIATELY!!! Even though I knew that in my opinion, basically every photo from high school years is unflattering. I sat and pondered for a minute the best way to handle this.

I began to type my response. “Dying of laughter. Can’t believe nobody told me about my hair.”

As I had sat and pondered, I’d reached the conclusion not to argue with these photos. Chances are good and very strong he is in possession of something much, much worse. And for that I am thankful that he still liked me enough NOT to post those ones.

Oddly enough, it’s the facebook relationships with people I never actually dated that have a history of being awkward. Go figure.

2 Responses to “Girl Talk Thursday: Facebook and Ex-boyfriends.”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Luckily for me, no one has gotten around to posting high school pictures. At least, none that they’ve tagged me in, anyhow! hehe

  2. Stacy Says:

    I’m still not photogenic, even with current pictures. I find the high school ones easier to excuse. “Oh, that was high school…”

    It’s a little harder to brush off the current ones, but I’m dealing. I understand it’s me who is being unreasonable.

Leave a Reply

