Thirteen (short and sweet)

After Niagara Falls we spent another two nights in Toronto and then two nights in NYC. We enjoyed ourselves and had a good time in both places. Then we started the long drive back to Saskatchewan. We discovered a chain of restaurants called Perkins that we started to seek out whenever we were hungry. We have fond memories of Perkins. Our last morning before arriving home, we were in Winnipeg. We were talking in bed about the last two weeks and how amazing it all was and how neither of us really wanted the amazing-ness to end.

And that’s when somebody said “So why don’t we just get married?” And the other said “That sounds like a great idea…wait, are you serious?”
“I’m serious if you’re serious.”
“I’m serious.”
“So am I.”
“So let’s get married.”
“Let’s get married.”

To this day, we still don’t remember who started that part of the conversation, but it doesn’t matter.

Now when we arrived home, I would have something very interesting to tell my mother. But I was far from worried. In fact, I think I was floating 6 inches off of the ground for the rest of the day. I wanted to marry him, but more importantly, he wanted to marry me. And even if this proposal wasn’t completely serious (that is to say, he did want to marry me, but he wanted to wait a little while) it didn’t really matter all that much to me. I knew that everything was going to be alright.

My mom was happy for us. She later approached Robert with two different family rings to offer us. He selected one, we had it sized and strengthened, and two weeks later it was on my finger.

We were serious.

One Response to “Thirteen (short and sweet)”

  1. Alexandra Says:

    *beautiful*

Leave a Reply

