ten.

In the six weeks that followed our weekend together in April, Robert and I found ways to cope with the distance placed between us. We began to spend our nights on skype. It was still a relatively new service at the time. Between Skype and video chatting on MSN we did the best that we could to pretend the distance wasn’t there. But of course, even though we could hear and see each other, we couldn’t touch. Putting your fingers to an image on a computer monitor is as pointless as it sounds. All you feel is static and dust.

In the weeks approaching June we started planning our summer together. Rob planned on spending six weeks with me in Saskatchewan. My family and the rest of my friends would finally be able to meet the one to whom I’d given my heart. We began to plan a road trip from Saskatoon to NYC. We would wind our way through some of the northern states and we would see Eisley on tour in four different cities before finally spending a weekend together in NYC. Tickets were purchased, hotels were booked, a car was rented. This roadtrip was definitely happening and the prospect of spending 2 weeks alone with Rob was enough to keep me going.

My 20th birthday came and went. My friends and I went out to my favorite restaurant and I had a great time. It was good to have fun. It seemed like I’d forgotten how. I guess I’d been so wrapped up in my own pity party I forgot that it was okay to let myself have fun.

The next day at work, when I checked my schedule, I was delighted to see I had the weekend off. My manager (actually, my mom) told me to consider it a belated birthday gift since I’d had to work on my actual birthday. The night before my last day of work for the week, Rob and I were talking and he told me his family was going out of town to Corpus Christi so he wouldn’t be home but for me to have a good weekend. I was a little bummed out but I pretended like “Oh okay! Have fun!” wasn’t code for “you butthead we could spend all day and night on skype this weekend and you’re ditching me?!”

The next day at work, it was nearing 2:30 pm when my good friend Twyla showed up. This was not unusual. I made her sandwich (Welcome to Subway, how can I help you) and as I was ringing her order on the register, she made the comment that we should make plans for tonight. I agreed that it was a good idea. She jokingly asked if Robert would be okay with me having plans tonight and I told her that he was out of town with his family so I don’t think he minded one bit. She sat down to eat and I continued working. It was slow so I was cleaning when a couple of my other friends came in. This was not unusual. Cathleen worked with me so we all were well aware of everyone’s work schedule. I figured maybe I’d been on their minds lately and now we could all make plans together! Hooray! Cathleen’s mom walked in and began to talk to my mother. This was not unusual. I assumed Cathleen’s mom wanted to work out some conflicts with scheduling or something. My brain had a perfectly reasonable explanation for everything. I looked outside and saw my best friend with her boyfriend. This is not unusual. He lives down the street. What a strange coincidence, though. I guess we were all thinking of each other. A customer walked in and my co-worker started to wait on him. I gathered empty bread pans and started to carry them to the back to be cleaned. As I passed the cash register, I heard the door alarm chirp. I looked over my shoulder to see if it was someone leaving or someone coming in.

It was Robert.

I dropped my bread pans all over the floor.

Tags:

7 Responses to “ten.”

  1. Cassie Says:

    omg yay!! lol!

  2. PrincessJenn Says:

    That? Is so awesome.
    I may have done a little squee over here when I read that šŸ™‚

  3. PrincessJenn Says:

    OK, now go write 11. I want to know what happens next

  4. Lomelinde Says:

    Ok that was a GREAT entry. Yaaay!

  5. nadine Says:

    haha sneaky, sneaky. i remember reading about this happening on lj. šŸ™‚

  6. Trish Gensemer Says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww I remember you telling me this story :’)

  7. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    OMG, the huge-ass grin on my face! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

