Free Fallin’

The moment you entered the world, the sweet strums of guitar filled the room. The surgeons were playing some mix cd that was lying around. The moments were fleeting, I don’t quite remember hearing you cry for the first time. But I remember Tom Petty. I remember thinking, what a great song to be born to! I remember thinking, It’s cold in here! I remember thinking, when am I gonna get to hold my son?

and when I finally got to meet you, you were absolutely perfect. I stared at every little crinkle in your skin, every little feature on your soft tiny face. I couldn’t believe something so perfect could come from someone so inherently flawed.

And now, two years later, I still steal moments of time to gaze at you. Smell your hair. Tweak your nose. I still melt when you push my hair out of the way so you can lay your head on my shoulder. Your little laugh makes my heart swell. And when you cry, I want to cry.

My darling son. How the time flies.

196_9633

Happy Birthday James.

5 Responses to “Free Fallin’”

  1. XandraExpressions Says:

    Lovely post Ashleigh! Happy Birthday James! These precious moments…

  2. Jamie Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAMES!!!!!

  3. PrincessJenn Says:

    Happy Birthday sweet little boy

  4. Caity Says:

    Oh what a sweet post. Happy Birthday, James. 🙂

  5. becauseweseperate Says:

    Cryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. This is so sweet, he is so lucky to have you as his mommy <3.

Leave a Reply

