Not that I like to say “I Told You So”

Okay. I’ll admit. I circled around wordpress every day since I posted that dumb little meme but I really felt like I had nothing to say. Nothing to talk about. Nothing that warranted me opening up this dumb text box and pouring my heart out.

But now I do.

Back to that in a minute. I really do want to apologize for leaving all three of my readers with nothing. No tidbits of information about my life, my son, my work day, my insanity. It’s all still here waiting for you. Once I get back into the swing of things. You see, I haven’t actually been at work since the 9th of october. That weekend, I was wrapped up in a baby shower cake for L’s eldest daughter. I wanted to slit my wrists but I decided against it if only because I could just picture my husband finding me on the kitchen floor and proclaiming “….and who…is going to clean this up?!” I jest. He would be sad to see me go. Sunday the 11th I attended a Canadian Thanksgiving celebration where I won a big bottle of Crown Royal Reserve. Yeah baby! Happy Thanksgiving to me!

Monday morning at 8:00am I went to the dentist and had all four of my wisdom teeth pulled. I opted only for local anesthetic so I was completely awake and aware of what was going on. My husband says that makes me a trooper. I just don’t like the mental fog of being put under.
“Is this real life?”
“why is this happening to me?”

For the record, the worst part of the whole ordeal was having gauze in my mouth for the rest of the day. It’s insult to injury, people!
I enjoyed the relief the vicodin brought me until tuesday morning when I woke up with a severe case of the spins. All I wanted to do was puke and pass out at the same time. Probably not good for being home alone with my son. I called the dentist (after hugging the toilet for 10 minutes) and asked, or rather, begged for them to tell me it was okay to try to switch to otc medication. It was, and after a little while, I felt much better.
Wednesday I tried out my first Zumba class and I had a great time.
I haven’t yet mentioned that on tuesday afternoon, the city started unannounced repairs on the sidewalk corners in front of my house. We live on a corner lot so the corner of the sidewalk is right outside our bedroom window. every morning at 7:00am they would wake me with jackhammers. How fitting. As if I didn’t already have a headache. Thursday was Robert’s birthday, Friday was our “birthday date” which naturally didn’t go according to plan. We stayed up late and I took comfort in the fact that I could sleep in on Saturday.
until some asshole showed up with his jackhammer at 7:00am. On saturday. FML.

But my vacation was good. I spent a week strengthening the relationship with my son and it paid off. Today was our last day before I go back to work. I was surprised to have today off as well but I was grateful. We went to a relative’s third birthday party. It was a pretty big party. They had it at the church hall. I had let James out of his stroller to explore a little bit. He started getting more and more brave. He wandered in the direction of the cake table and I knew I had to take action. I went and picked him up and brought him back to the table. I then tried to restrict how far he could go by the age old trick of hanging on to the waistband of his pants. Robert said “Let him go! Let him play!” I pointed to the cake table and said “The first place he will go is over there and stick his hands right in that cake” “No he won’t.” “Yes he will” “He wants to go play with the other kids.” “Okay.”
I stood from my chair as soon as I let go of James and chased him over to the cake table where I managed to grab his hands before he stuck his palms into the cake. I brought him back to his daddy and said “I told you. Pass me that napkin so I can wipe his hands. You’re on James duty now.”

Not that I like to say I told you so. Because I was still that crazy lady who let her kid poke his fingers in the cake.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Not that I like to say “I Told You So””

  1. XandraExpressions Says:

    Good to see you back! You are all the wiser now that your teeth have been pulled. Good luck back at work tomorrow.

  2. Stacy Says:

    I am reader number two!!! I love the “I told you so” moment. It makes me giggle.

    What’s a Zumba class?

  3. Angi Says:

    We always know better…someday Dad’s will figure that out.

  4. AJastray Says:

    pfft… You so do LOVE To say I told you so… admit it.

Leave a Reply

