Home Improvement.

A couple of weeks ago, I announced to Robert that I no longer wished to have burgundy walls in our bedroom. I want something cleaner, less splotchy, something that will go with whatever new comforter I just “have to have” when I go shopping by myself. I announced to him this week that we are going to do said repainting on Thursday and Friday (today and tomorrow). A simple repaint turned into repainting walls, replacing the door, replacing the ceiling fan, replacing the electrical outlets, and installing new baseboards. Now, I’m no good at these things. I look kind of cute in my “Paint clothes” (re: U of S Huskies shorts and some ratty old t-shirt I found in the closet) but otherwise I am pretty much useless as far as these things are concerned.

I slept in til noon today. It wasn’t intentional. I guess after a ten day haul at work (after coming back from the wedding in NY) I was just exhausted. I couldn’t believe all the time I had wasted. I didn’t even appreciate the sleep-in at first. We didn’t even get started priming the walls until 7:00pm!! We spent all afternoon doing what I had planned on doing all morning!

A few years back, there was a Lowes commercial that showed a couple walking through the store with their hands over their eyes because “home improvement” was sooooo expensive. Then along comes a “friendly” employee to tell you that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to make a big difference. Raise your hand if you’ve ever gone to Lowes without spending way too much money on things you didn’t know you needed? Right. Lowes makes me want to spend every last penny on things for my house. But I can’t do that. And thus, Lowes makes me tired.

We anticipated James would be spending a little bit of time in his playpen to allow us to get some things done over the course of today and tomorrow but considering the fact that we’ve accomplished very little thus far, he may have to spend the better part of tomorrow with Grandma.

Gosh, he looks like his dad.
Want to take a ride?

Here is a before photo of our bedroom
(please note my mommy uniform)
Before

interim photo
Hubs

And finally, All you need is right through this door.
All you need.

Tags:

One Response to “Home Improvement.”

  1. Caity Says:

    Aww, the last photo is so cute. Not as cute as James, though! I love it! I’m glad you can finally relax now.

Leave a Reply

